The 52nd Annual Equity Joseph Jefferson Award nominees were announced earlier this week, celebrating excellence in Chicago theater and hosting both Equity and Non-Equity award ceremonies each year. The Belmont Theater District extends its congratulations to all nominees and would like to offer a special congratulations to this year’s nominees from BTD theaters and productions. 

Congratulations to TimeLine Theatre Company, which earned a whopping 10 nominations for this year’s Equity awards. Remy Bumppo Theatre Company and Shattered Globe Theatre brought home 5 nominations each, About Face Theatre is up for 2 awards this season, and American Blues Theater has 1. It is bittersweet to report that the now-shuttered Mercury Theater earned 4 nominations for its production of SPAMALOT. Congratulations all on your well-deserved success, and good luck in November! 

American Blues Theater takes home one nomination for Five Presidents for Performer in a Supporting Role – Play for actor James Leaming.

The Gulf from About Face Theatre is nominated for its Lighting Design by Rachel Levy and Scenic Design by Joe Schermoly. 

Mercury Theater’s nominations for SPAMALOT are for midsize Production – Musical or Revue,  L. Walter Stearns for Director of a midsize musical or revue, Jonah D. Winston for Performer in a Principal Role – Musical, and Meghan Murphy for Performer in a Supporting Role – Musical

Remy Bumppo is up for 5 nominations for Howards End. They are for Costume Design by Kristy Leigh Hall, Eliza Stoughton for Performer in a Principal Role – Play, Nick Sandys for Director of a midsize play, Mike Durst for Lighting Design, and Douglas Post for New Work

Shattered Globe Theatre’s winter hit, Sheepdog has earned 5 nominations. They are for Sound Design by Christopher Kriz, Lighting Design by Jason Lynch, Leslie Ann Sheppard for Performer in a Principal Role – Play, Wardell Julius Clark for Director of a midsize play, and best Production – Play

TimeLine Theatre’s Oslo and Kill Move Paradise both have multiple nominations this year. Oslo is nominated for Projection Design by Mike Tutaj, Anish Jethmalani for Performer in a Supporting Role – Play, Bri Sudia for Performer in a Principal Role – Play, Nick Bowling for Director of a large play, and best Production of a large play. Kill Move Paradise has nominations for Ensemble – Play, Movement Choreography by Breon Arzell, Director of a large play by Wardell Julius Clark, Sound Design and Original Music in a Play both by Jeffrey Levin.  

Congratulations to Shattered Globe Theatre Ensemble Member Deanna Reed-Foster for her nomination for her performance in Victory Gardens’ The First Deep Breath

Triple congratulations to TimeLine Company Member Wardell Julius Clark on 3 directing nominations this year, 2 of which are for BTD productions! 

The 52nd Annual Equity Jeff Awards ceremony will take place online on November 9, 2020. See the Jeff Awards’ website for more details and a full list of nominations. 


To see what’s playing now in the BTD, head to our Shows page. 

If you like to be social, follow us on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook

Sign up for our monthly newsletter to receive insider information from our local theaters, including special invitations and discounted theater tickets.